From The Archives

RA Guy Adventures of RA Guy

My Body: Loss, Grief, And Recovery
June 1, 2009

Grieving BatmanIn order to work through these losses that I continue to experience as a result of my life with rheumatoid arthritis, I must allow myself to the opportunity to grieve.

I just finished reading On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Grief, by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross and David Kessler. (I love it when things start falling into place!) Although this book was originally written to address the grief of death, it’s principles are perfectly suited  to many other aspects of life,  including the losses associated with chronic illness. (Death is just one of the many losses we experience in life.)

What are the five stages of grief?

Read More:

RA ChicksThanks to Niki for sharing this blog post yesterday on the RA Chicks: Women with Rheumatoid Arthritis Facebook page. It was nice to re-read the post myself and to participate in the discussion that was going on around the topics of loss, grieving, and acceptance. If you aren’t already a fan of RA Chicks, you should be!

More Info: